Thomas Spychalski-Hearts in Shade-2002 Demo

So now that the prior post is out of the way and we have all this lovely virtual space, let’s expand the content here a bit and post the music that exists so far in at least a demo form, some old, some new-ish.

We start with the one I still think shows the most of what I am capable of, and lyrics and more background can be found by reading the full post below the video.

Also likes, shares and subscriptions never go unwanted or unnoticed either to say nothing of comments.

Thank you!

I wrote this in 2002 on a four track TASCAM portable studio I borrowed.

The tracks are all one continuous take so there are a couple mistakes and the drums were from a little drum machine where you had to ‘tap’ out the drums. I got lazy back then and there is a section towards the end where the drums just disappear because I lost the rhythm as you had to play the entire song to get a take and I did it countless times before that take and said ‘meh’ although I now wish I had fixed that.

13977_792057887481995_1808920394835404646_n

The lyrics are as follows and please again feel free to tell me what you think and like and share!

“I think I know the answer, to all your pain,
It’s stuck somewhere deep inside my poor brain.
I think you don’t need me, to hang around.

You say we will, but then we won’t,
You say we can, but then we don’t.
Your always locked away inside,
What we do, you can’t hide.
Inside.
You can’t hide.

You think you know me so well,
Yet you don’t know me at all.
You think I really didn’t notice?
I didn’t set myself up for a fall,
That’s all, that’s all, that’s all, that’s all…

And so I set myself up for a date with a ghost,
I will be the kindest, most sincere old host.
You think I can’t sleep in this bed you know I’ve made,
But how can you sleep when you know your hearts in shade?

wooden heart

Now close the door my dear, re-open and give support,
I’ll hold myself down in this Liars’ court.
One more day soon, the sun, it won’t shine,
Cause you got your pain and you know that I’ve got mine.

And so I set myself up for a date with a ghost,
I will be the kindest, most sincere old host.
You think I can’t sleep in this bed you know I’ve made,
But how can you sleep at all when you know your hearts in shade?”

Thomas Spychalski

 

2 Responses to Thomas Spychalski-Hearts in Shade-2002 Demo

  1. Um. Wow. This is GORGEOUS!!

Leave a Reply

