I used to

year-of-a-tree

I used to be able to, not sure why I cannot now,

I used to be able to, did I forget how?

I used to take these waves like a man,

Now wondering if I even can.

 

What changed in me, what changed in me,

Just leave it be, just let it free.

I don’t need this fake misery,

And what it conjured up to be.

 

I used to push it down,

now it seems it pushes me around.

I used to leave it hanging in space,

Now I force with added disgrace.

 

I used to do so, must once again,

Bridge the space between now and then,

maybe one day I can recall when,

there was a colder me in my den.

 

Thomas Spychalski

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

