Sins of the Father

cropped-404193_353356824685439_994789052_n.jpgThe sins of the father shall be visited on the son a thousand times,

I’ve put myself on trial but it’s not me, these are not my crimes.

Swallowed poisoned thoughts, ingrained there by repetition,

Battered the lights given whenever I would go into remission.

 

And now faced with the decision,

Do we continue that stale transmission?

Or walk out into the fear that binds,

Lose these eyes that blind my own mind.

Daddy dearest, father blue, I’m now you.

And all I can ask is do you see me yet?

 

Drowned myself in evil medicine to heal thyself madly,

Clutching onto the dull cause I think I need it so badly.

Must stay still, must be the most silent god of gods,

We don’t ever spoil the child here, we spoil the rod.

 

And now faced with the decision,

Do we continue that stale transmission?

Or walk out into the fear that binds,

Lose these eyes that blind my own mind.

Daddy dearest, father blue, I’m now you.

And all I can ask is do you see me yet?

 

The sins of the father are passed on to the son,

But of all the battles that we lost and we won,

I never armed myself and took to the field for me,

For my repeated mission was to make them feel free.

 

And now faced with the decision,

Do we continue that stale transmission?

Or walk out into the fear that binds,

Lose these eyes that blind my own mind.

Daddy dearest, father blue, I’m now you.

And all I can ask is do you see me yet?

Thomas Spychalski

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

