Wake Me Up, Drag Me Down

Each new day, when I open my eyes, I come from the peaceful world of dreams back to the world of schemes and lies.

Looking ahead to a day filled with loneliness and emptiness, empty pockets and empty days with unfull hearts thoughts like primed rockets and the blurred vision of the sightless.

 

Why when you wake me up do you drag me down?

This day I’m just trying to take off that heavy gown,

It weighs me in place, pushes me around,

God damn you can’t you let me breathe, name you destroyer, no longer want that heavy crown.

 

Today I wanted, nothing more,

then to wake once without thought,

to not have immediately bought,

into the lies of my inside whore.

Thomas Spychalski 

Leave a Reply

