Barely

All spark bled out, duties are done. Retreat to tarnished walls, remove the fancy dress now we have begun.

As the world settles down in the confines of shelter, silent scream of emptiness, reach out for the Earth mother but can’t say when I last felt her.

Just barely here now, if you breathe you might never know I was gone. Clock is ticking onwards, every new scratch leaves one less to the last dawn.

Where did it all get left behind, what made this world into stone, Eyes have it but I’m still blind, now the pain is all I own.

Rage never won the day but neither did my best love, maybe we should leave the quest till we touch skies above.

Barely feel like I’m living in the same world as the rest of the tribes that ignore me, but of losses the worst was belief that there may be something for me.

If we call to the rivers current and ask all who swim against why they strive, they will call on great life, but not all survive.

– Thomas Spychalski

2 Responses to Barely

  1. Amazing poem, Thomas. Amazing, amazing, amazing. Loved it!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.