A Normal Night in Lonely Illinois.

No matter where I search cannot find it,
No matter where I choose to perch can’t bind it,
Guess I’m just too far away,
Guess it’s just not my day…

But in my mind I can see a vision,
Free of hurt, loss, or indecision,
But it seems a losing mission,
To ever feel that again, such a sad admission.

Nowhere I seek have I ever been able to find,
Nowhere I walk solo have I ever beaten time,
Guess I just walk on anyways,
Guess I’m the one comes/goes, never stays.

But in my heart there is still fire,
Out here hanging on rusty wire,
But it seems something I cannot aquire,
With nothing here and nowhere to aspire.

Something says not to think about it,
Someone says it don’t mean dry spit,
Hope is hope till it dies,
A hurt is not hurt till it cries.

Meanwhile in my solitary sorry head,
There is something I leave unsaid,
As I lay my lonely life to a lumpy bed,
Wish I had one, my one, to hold instead.

-Thomas Spychalski

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.